What do the guidelines say?

Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) recommendation:

Healthcare professionals should be careful not to restrict access to IUCs owing to theoretical or unproven risks. Healthcare professionals should offer intrauterine contraceptives (IUC) as a first-line method of contraception to both nulliparous and multiparous women." 1*

Canadian Paediatric Society recommendation2

The Canadian Paediatric Society recommends using long-acting reversible contraceptives (LARCs) as first-line contraception for Canadian youth, while recognizing that the LARC options are limited to IUCs in Canada and that not all youth are comfortable with IUCs."

Safety and efficacy of Kyleena® have been studied in women aged 18 and over. Efficacy is expected to be the same for post-menarcheal adolescents under the age of 18 as for users 18 years and older. Kyleena® is not indicated for use before menarche.

Que disent les lignes directrices?

Recommandation de la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC)

« Les professionnels de la santé devraient prendre soin d’éviter de restreindre l’accès aux contraceptifs intra-utérins (CIU) en raison de risques théoriques ou non établis. Ils devraient considérer les CIU comme étant des options contraceptives de première intention pour leurs patientes tant nullipares que multipares. »1*

Recommandation de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie2

« La Société canadienne de pédiatrie recommande les méthodes de contraception réversibles à action prolongée (MCRAP) comme contraceptif de première intention chez les jeunes Canadiennes. Elle reconnaît toutefois qu’au Canada, les MCRAP se limitent aux CIU, et que les jeunes ne sont pas toutes à l’aise d’utiliser des CIU. »

L’innocuité et l’efficacité de Kyleena® ont été étudiées chez les femmes de 18 ans et plus. On croit que l’efficacité sera la même chez les adolescentes de moins de 18 ans ayant eu leurs premières règles que chez les utilisatrices de 18 ans et plus. Kyleena® n’est pas indiqué avant l’apparition des premières règles.